Intramural’s crowns 2012 football champions

By Dustyn Miller

Intramurals’ Crowns 2012 Football Champions

Men’s Summary

#1 Seed Peyton Man Things defended their men’s flag football championship by defeating #2 Seed Swangas 33-18.  The PMT’s overcame a short-lived first half deficit with their stellar defense, led by Chris Baird’s three interceptions and some timely offensive production from their quarterback, Christian Armstrong.  Armstrong was able to elude some intense pressure from the Swanga’s to guide the PMT’s to victory.  Baird started the scoring with a pick-6 on the first play from scrimmage.  However, the Swangas came back with two scoring drives to take a temporary lead of 12-7.  QB Preston Isner threw two short scoring strikes to Stacy Collins and Eugene Cummings respectively.  However, Armstrong led the charge to retake the lead with a 15-yard pass to Connor McCullough and then skipped into the end zone on a short run with only two minutes remaining to take a 20-12 lead into the half.  The Swangas came back one last time in the second half as Isner threw a 70-yard catch and run to Stefan Brown to close within 20-18 with 13 minutes to go.  However, Armstrong then closed the deal with touchdown passes to Tyler Staton and Jacob Kroko.  Armstrong was named offensive player of the game and Baird claimed the defensive award.

Co-Rec Summary

#6 Seed Swangas 2 grabbed a huge halftime lead and then overcame a second half surge by defending champs #1 Seed FIAGS to pull off the upset 46-35 in the co-rec flag football championship.  The game started out as a defensive struggle, but quickly became a shootout.  Quarterback Stacy Collins started the scoring with 12 minutes to go in the first half for the Swangas with a short touchdown pass to Olivia Mason.  In Co-Rec, female TD’s count nine points so both teams used this strategy to their advantage.  FIAGS’ Quarterback Beau Cassada then took off on a run play from 35 yards out and lateralled to Jessica Mullin to score nine points and tack on a two point conversion to give the FIAGS a temporary 11-10 lead.  However, the Swangas came storming back with two more female touchdowns to take a seemingly insurmountable 28-11 halftime lead.  Collins connected with Quita Cooper for a 10-yard strike and then with only two minutes left in the half, connected with Mason once again on a five-yard pass.  The FIAGS awoke in the second half when backed up to their own one-yard line on their first series and less than a minute into the action, Kevin Chandler threw a bomb to Cassidy Burns for a 79-yard pass play.  Chandler then connected with Cassada on a short pass to close within 28-25 and the game was on.  The game then went back and forth with Collins’ passing to Stefan Brown for a short 10-yard pass play and Chandler hitting Jess Mullins with a five-yard pass play.  With the conversion, the FIAGS took the lead for the first time since early in the first half 35-34.  Collins then drove the Swangas down the field and hit Damien Whindleton with a short pass to regain the lead with less than a minute to go.  With one last gasp effort, Chandler’s last second pass was intercepted and returned for a touchdown by Ahmere Ware to close the deal and the scoring.  Stacy Collins was named the offensive player of the game with five touchdown passes.  Jessica Mullen led the defenses with three sacks and was named the defensive player of the game.     





Flag Football All-Stars
Co-Rec Offense                      Co-Rec Defense          Men’s Offense                        Men’s Defense
Kevin Chandler                        Jessica Mullen             Christian Armstrong               Scott Fike
DaMario McFadgen                Beau Cassada              Stacy Collins                            Chris Baird                 
David Frizzell                           Ronnie Mongold         Adam Utz                                Michael Dean
Olivia Mason                           Stacy Linthicum           Brian Lynch                             Stefan Vessels
Quita Cooper                          Peggy Russell              Tyler Staton                             Damien Whindleton
Preston Isner                           Kelly Hughes               Taylor Boyers                          Tyler Slanovec
Rob Gallet                               Kyle Harris                  Cassidy Burns                          Connor McCullough
Trevor Walzl                           Ahmere Ware             Coulter Maxey                                    Casey Regetz
Sam Churchill                          Mick Hicklin                Chris Gallet                             Kodero Thompson
Kelsie Floyd                             Paul Rachner               Ed Reddick                              Tom Kinder
Ashleigh Mongold                   Chris Eby                     Ryan Carder                            Ryan Pigg
Molly Coleman                       Mike Dandridge          Stefan Brown                          Sam Krone                  




Comments are closed.